Guides • All guides

What are the state rules for selling skincare in your med spa?

Selling skincare from your treatment room is legal in every jurisdiction we checked — but the paperwork is two separate registrations from two separate agencies, and the names change at every border. This table lists the licensing body, whether a separate retail license is needed, and the sales-tax permit for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, each row sourced to the official state page and last verified 31 October, 1 November, or 2 November 2026.

Published 6 November 2026 • Last verified 2 November 2026 • Every row checked against the official state board or revenue page • General educational information, not legal advice.

Not legal advice: this table is general information from official state pages. Rules change — confirm the current requirements with your state board before you act.

What are the state rules for selling skincare in a med spa?

In all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, selling retail skincare inside a licensed salon needs two things: the salon or shop license — from the cosmetology board in 49 of them, from the local health district in Connecticut — and a sales-tax permit from the revenue department. Utah and Puerto Rico are the exceptions on the salon side: Utah has no state-level salon license at all, and Puerto Rico has no board-issued salon license at all. No verified jurisdiction requires a separate retail license. Medical services in a med spa are a separate question, governed by the medical board.

That is the short version of a table that took a day of reading official pages to build — because the answer is never in one place. The cosmetology board licenses the room and the people in it. The revenue department licenses the sale. Neither agency's site mentions the other's requirement, and neither mentions a retail-specific license, because in the jurisdictions we verified there is not one. The table below names both agencies for each state, with a link to each official page, so you can confirm both halves yourself before you open a shelf. Our 2026 med spa retail report covers the market side — how many spas retail, what they earn, and what the shelf is worth — while this page covers the permission side. Starting a line from scratch? The step-by-step guide walks through the whole launch: how to start a skincare line.

Two registrations, two agencies. The salon license comes from the cosmetology board; the sales-tax permit comes from the revenue department. No verified jurisdiction adds a third, retail-specific license from the cosmetology board — but the medical side of a med spa is a separate regulator, covered below.

How to use this table

Find your state, read across the row, then click the two links in the Source column and confirm both requirements on the official pages before you act. Three steps, in order:

  • Licensing body: the agency that licenses the salon or shop, and the name of the license it issues. This is the permission to operate the room.
  • Separate retail license? whether the cosmetology board requires an additional license just to sell retail products inside that salon. In every verified jurisdiction the answer is either no, or the board's site does not state one.
  • Sales-tax permit? the permit that authorizes you to collect sales tax on retail sales, and the agency that issues it. Register before your first taxable sale — every verified jurisdiction requires it in advance.

All 52 jurisdictions in scope now have a row — every state, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. A jurisdiction appears here only after both halves have been checked against the official page. Rules change, and a board page can move; the Source links are there so you can verify the current wording yourself, on the day you act. We turned the table into six findings: the 52-jurisdiction rules for selling skincare in a spa.

The rules, state by state

Every row below was last verified 31 October, 1 November, or 2 November 2026 against the official pages linked in the Source column. “Not stated on the board’s site” means the board’s own pages describe the salon license but say nothing about a separate retail license — it is a statement about what the source says, not a guess about the rule.

StateLicensing bodySeparate retail license?Sales-tax permit?Source
CaliforniaCalifornia Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (Dept. of Consumer Affairs) — establishment licenseNo — the state’s official business guide lists only the establishment license and a seller’s permitYes — CDTFA seller’s permitBoard · Tax
TexasTexas Dept. of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales and use tax permit (Comptroller)Board · Tax
New YorkNY Dept. of State, Division of Licensing Services — Appearance Enhancement Business licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Certificate of Authority (Tax Dept.)Board · Tax
FloridaFL Dept. of Business and Professional Regulation, Board of Cosmetology — cosmetology salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales and use tax dealer registration (Form DR-11)Board · Tax
ColoradoCO Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure (DORA) — shop registration, incl. med spasNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Standard Retail License (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax · Colorado makers
ArizonaAZ Barbering and Cosmetology Board — Establishment LicenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) licenseBoard · Tax
GeorgiaGA State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers — salon/shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales and Use Tax Certificate of RegistrationBoard · Tax
IllinoisIL Dept. of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) — salon/shop Certificate of RegistrationNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Certificate of Registration (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax · Med-spa memo
North CarolinaNC Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales and Use Tax Certificate of RegistrationBoard · Tax
New JerseyNJ State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling — shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Certificate of AuthorityBoard · Tax
PennsylvaniaPA State Board of Cosmetology — salon license, via PALSNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales, Use, and Hotel Occupancy Retail Tax LicenseBoard · Tax
WashingtonWA Dept. of Licensing (DOL) — salon/shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — register with DOR; reseller permit for wholesale buysBoard · Tax
OhioOhio State Cosmetology and Barber Board — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — vendor’s license from the county auditorBoard + tax
VirginiaVA Board for Barbers and Cosmetology — shop or salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales Tax Certificate of Registration (Form ST-4)Board · Tax
MassachusettsMA Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales Tax Registration Certificate (Form ST-1)Board · Tax
NevadaNV State Board of Cosmetology — establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales/Use Tax PermitBoard · Tax
AlabamaAL Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales Tax License (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
AlaskaAK Board of Barbers and Hairdressers — shop owner licenseNot stated on the board’s siteNo state sales tax — local sales tax and registration may apply (Dept. of Commerce; ARSSTC)Board · Tax · ARSSTC
MinnesotaMN Board of Cosmetology — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — register for a Sales and Use Tax account (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
OregonOR Health Licensing Office, Board of Cosmetology — facility licenseNot stated on the board’s siteNo sales tax — Oregon has no general sales or use tax (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
TennesseeTN Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners — cosmetology shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales and use tax Certificate of Registration (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
ArkansasAR Dept. of Health, Cosmetology Section — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — register for state taxes via ATAP (Dept. of Finance and Administration)Board · Tax
ConnecticutCT Dept. of Public Health — hairdresser/cosmetician license (practitioners); no state-level shop license — premises licensed by the local health districtNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales and Use Tax Permit (Dept. of Revenue Services)Board · Local permit · Tax
MarylandMD Board of Cosmetologists — salon permitNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales and Use Tax License (Comptroller)Board · Tax
MichiganMI Dept. of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs — cosmetology establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax license (Dept. of Treasury)Board · Tax
MissouriMO Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners — establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax license (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
DelawareDE Division of Professional Regulation (Board of Cosmetology and Barbering) — professional establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteNo sales tax — Delaware levies a gross receipts tax on sellers instead (Division of Revenue)Board · Tax
HawaiiHI Dept. of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA), Board of Barbering and Cosmetology — beauty shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteNo sales tax — Hawaii levies a general excise tax (GET) instead; a GET license is required (Dept. of Taxation)Board · Tax
IdahoID Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL), Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board — cosmetology establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — seller’s permit (State Tax Commission)Board · Tax
WisconsinWI Dept. of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS), Cosmetology Examining Board — cosmetology establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — seller’s permit (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
South CarolinaSC Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (LLR), Board of Cosmetology — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Retail License (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
IndianaIN Professional Licensing Agency, State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners — beauty culture salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Registered Retail Merchant Certificate (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
LouisianaLA State Board of Cosmetology — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax account (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
IowaIA Dept. of Inspections, Appeals & Licensing, Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences — establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales and Use Tax permit (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
KansasKS State Board of Cosmetology — salon or clinic licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax registration certificate (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
KentuckyKY Board of Cosmetology — salon or limited facility licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales and Use Tax Permit (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
MaineME Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Program — Level 1 establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — register for a sales tax account; Retailer Certificate (Maine Revenue Services)Board · Tax
MississippiMS State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax permit (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
MontanaMT Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists — salon/shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteNo state sales tax — a local resort tax of up to 3% may apply to retail sales inside a designated resort community or area (Dept. of Revenue; MCA 7-6-1503)Board · Tax · Resort tax
NebraskaNE Dept. of Health and Human Services, Licensure Unit — cosmetology salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Sales Tax Permit (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
New HampshireNH Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification) — shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteNo sales tax — no general sales tax on goods (Dept. of Revenue Administration)Board · Tax
New MexicoNM Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists (Regulation and Licensing Dept.) — establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteNo sales tax — New Mexico levies a gross receipts tax (GRT) instead; GRT returns filed via TAP (Taxation & Revenue Dept.)Board · Tax
North DakotaND State Board of Cosmetology — establishment (salon) licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales and use tax permit (Office of State Tax Commissioner)Board · Tax
OklahomaOK State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — establishment licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax permit (Oklahoma Tax Commission)Board · Tax
Rhode IslandRI Dept. of Health, Board of Barbering and Hairdressing — shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax permit (Division of Taxation)Board · Tax
South DakotaSD Cosmetology Commission (Dept. of Labor and Regulation) — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax license (Dept. of Revenue)Board · Tax
UtahUT Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing — no state-level salon/shop license; the Cosmetology Act licenses practitioners and schools onlyNo — Utah licenses practitioners, not salons, so there is no retail add-onYes — sales tax license (State Tax Commission); new businesses apply via TAPBoard · Statute · Tax
VermontVT Office of Professional Regulation (Secretary of State) — shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales and use tax license (Dept. of Taxes)Board · Tax
West VirginiaWV Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — Business Registration Certificate (State Tax Division)Board · Tax
WyomingWY Board of Cosmetology — salon licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — sales tax license (Dept. of Revenue, Excise Tax Division)Board · Tax
District of ColumbiaDC Board of Barber and Cosmetology — salon/shop licenseNot stated on the board’s siteYes — FR-500 registration (Office of Tax and Revenue)Board · Tax
Puerto RicoPR Junta Examinadora de Especialistas en Belleza (Dept. of State) — no board-issued salon/shop license; the board licenses individual practitioners only (Ley 431; Reglamento 8663)No — Puerto Rico licenses practitioners, not salons, so there is no retail add-onYes — Certificado de Registro de Comerciantes (IVU) via SURI (Dept. de Hacienda)Board · Regulation · Tax

Five rows deserve a footnote. California is the only verified state where the official page enumerates the full requirement list — the Governor’s business guide for barber shops and beauty salons names the establishment license and the seller’s permit and nothing else — so it is the only row that says “No” outright. Illinois is the only verified state where the regulator has published the med-spa split in writing: a joint IDFPR and Department of Public Health memo, updated 30 October 2025, states that a salon registration cannot be used to operate a med spa, and that medical procedures fall within physician scope. Oregon, Alaska, Delaware, Montana, and New Hampshire are the verified states with no statewide sales tax — their rows say so plainly, with the sales-tax column pointing to the official page. Hawaii has no sales tax either, but it is not in that group: Hawaii levies a general excise tax on businesses instead, and a GET license is required — its row says so plainly. New Mexico is the same shape: no traditional sales tax, but a gross receipts tax (GRT) on businesses instead — its row says so plainly. Connecticut is the first verified state with no state-level shop license — the Department of Public Health licenses the practitioners, and the local health district licenses the premises, as the Chesprocott Health District ordinance shows. Utah is the second: the Cosmetology Act licenses practitioners and schools only, with no salon or shop license at all — Utah Code §58-11a-301. Puerto Rico is the third: the Junta Examinadora de Especialistas en Belleza licenses individual practitioners only — Reglamento 8663 governs the exam and the individual license, with no salon or shop license in the regulation.

Med spas vs. estheticians: two regulators, not one

The table covers the cosmetology side: the salon, the shop, the esthetician. Every verified jurisdiction licenses that side through its cosmetology board, whatever the board is called — a standalone board in California, North Carolina, and Nevada; a division of the licensing department in Texas, Illinois, and Washington; a board inside the Department of State in New York, Pennsylvania, and Puerto Rico. The license names vary — establishment license, salon license, shop license, certificate of registration — but the shape is the same: the premises are licensed, inspected, and tied to a location. Connecticut is the exception on the premises side: the state licenses the practitioners through the Department of Public Health, and the salon premises are licensed by the local health district. Utah is the second exception: the state licenses the practitioners and the schools, but no salon or shop license exists at all. Puerto Rico is the third: the territory licenses the practitioners through its Junta Examinadora de Especialistas en Belleza, but no board-issued salon or shop license exists — Reglamento 8663 covers the exam and the individual license only.

A med spa has a second half the table does not cover. Anything medical — injectables, lasers, medium-depth peels, prescription-strength treatments — is practiced under a physician's license and regulated by the state medical board, not the cosmetology board. Illinois is the verified example: the IDFPR and Department of Public Health memo states that a salon registration cannot be used to operate a med spa. The retail question and the medical question are separate permissions from separate regulators, and a spa that does both needs both. The MoCRA guide for spas selling skincare covers a third layer — the federal product rules on labeling and safety — which applies in every state on top of the state licenses in this table. The med-spa private-label page and the estheticians' private-label page describe how the own-label side works once the permissions are in place.

Sales tax: the permit names change, the rule does not

Every verified jurisdiction that has a sales tax requires the same thing: register with the revenue department and get the permit before your first taxable sale. The permit's name is the only thing that changes — seller's permit in California, Certificate of Authority in New York and New Jersey, vendor's license in Ohio, Standard Retail License in Colorado, Sales Tax Registration Certificate in Massachusetts. The license is separate from the salon license, it comes from a different agency, and it must be displayed at the place of business in most of the states we checked. Hawaii is the outlier on the tax side: it has no sales tax, but it levies a general excise tax (GET) instead, and a GET license is required.

The same registration usually covers buying inventory for resale without paying sales tax at purchase, using the state's resale certificate — Washington's reseller permit and Tennessee's Certificate of Resale are the named examples in the official pages we read. That is a second reason to register before the first sale rather than after: the permit is what lets you buy stock tax-free as well as sell it taxed. Run the numbers on what the shelf earns once the permits are in place with the private-label margin calculator and the retail shelf ROI calculator.

Oregon, Alaska, Delaware, Montana, and New Hampshire are the no-sales-tax states to earn a row — their rows state plainly that there is no state sales tax, and link to the official page. Hawaii has no sales tax either, but it levies a general excise tax instead — its row says so plainly, with a link to the official page. New Mexico has no traditional sales tax either; it levies a gross receipts tax instead — its row says so plainly, with a link to the official page.

Methodology and sources

A jurisdiction earns a row in this table only when both halves check out against an official page read on 31 October, 1 November, or 2 November 2026: the licensing body and the license it issues, from the board's own site or the official state code; and the sales-tax permit and the agency that issues it, from the revenue department's own site. A row's Source column links to exactly those pages. Where the board's site does not mention a separate retail license, the cell says so rather than inferring a rule — the one exception is California, where the state's official business guide enumerates the full requirement list, so the cell says no.

What we did not do: we did not rely on secondary guides, law-firm explainers, or aggregator pages for any row. Several states were left out because only third-party sources surfaced in the session. We did not guess a fee, a license name, or a board name for any state. Medical services in a med spa are governed separately by the state medical board, and are stated as such in the methodology rather than claimed per state, except for Illinois, where the regulator's memo states the split in writing.

Gaps we could not close: no verified state publishes a separate retail-sales license for skincare sold inside a licensed salon, so the table cannot tell you what one costs or how to apply for one — because, on the official pages we read, it does not exist. No primary-source count of licensed salons by state exists in public data, so this page does not rank states by salon count. The 2026 med spa retail report covers market size and workforce by state from the sources that do exist.

The full record — every verification round and the source types — is on the methodology page.

Report a correction

Rules change, and board pages move. If a row on this page is out of date — a board renamed, a permit renamed, a link that now points at the wrong page — tell us and we will check it against the official source. One sentence is enough: the state, and what is wrong. A source link helps us verify faster but is not required.

What happens after you send it: Robert checks the report against the official source. If the source confirms it, the table is updated and the verified date changes — and the change is listed in the log below. If you left an email, he replies once it is checked. This form is for corrections to the table only, not for sales inquiries: if you want to talk about a private-label line, use the wholesale page.

Correction received — thank you.
Reference CR-2026-0000. Robert checks each report against the official source and updates the table when the source confirms it. If you left an email, he will reply once it is checked.

Corrections applied so far

Every verified correction is listed here, with the date, the state, what changed, and the source it was checked against — so you can see the table is maintained, not just published.

  • No corrections applied yet. This log starts with the first verified correction.

Embed this table on your site

If you run a law firm, spa association, school, supplier site — or a salon site that answers the same question for your clients — and your readers ask which license covers retail skincare and which sales-tax permit, you can embed the row for your state instead of rewriting it. Pick a state and the box below builds the snippet from the verified table above: the licensing body, the retail-license answer, the sales-tax permit, and the official source links, with the verified date. Paste the code into your page as-is. It is plain HTML with inline styles, so it needs no JavaScript on your site and no account with us.

One state per embed keeps the snippet short enough to paste anywhere; for the full table, use the link below. LabelOrigin is a B2B agency, not a regulator — every row links to the official board or revenue page so you can check it yourself.

The embed links back to this guide. That is the whole deal: your readers get the verified row, and the table has one home that we keep current. We recheck every row monthly and update the verified date when a rule changes — if your state's row changes, come back here and copy the snippet again. The snippet carries the verified date, so a stale copy is visible.

LabelOrigin, a Rankly Design brand, connects med spas and salons with US manufacturers like Renaud Naturals (Loveland, CO). Robert is your contact from first question to samples.

Attribution is part of the snippet. Every embed carries a "Source: LabelOrigin" link to this guide. Please keep it — it is how readers find the full 52-row table and check the official sources themselves.

Choose a state above to preview the embed.

Link to this table

Prefer a plain link? The whole table lives at labelorigin.com/guides/state-rules-selling-skincare-med-spa/. To cite it: "LabelOrigin, State Rules for Selling Skincare in Your Med Spa — 52 rows verified 2 November 2026, https://labelorigin.com/guides/state-rules-selling-skincare-med-spa/".

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a separate license to sell retail skincare in my spa?

In all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, no. Every verified jurisdiction requires the salon or shop license and a sales-tax permit from the revenue department — but no board we checked lists a separate license just for selling retail products inside a licensed salon. The salon license comes from the cosmetology board in 49 of them; in Connecticut the premises are licensed by the local health district while the state licenses the practitioners, and Utah has no state-level salon license at all — Utah's Cosmetology Act licenses practitioners and schools only — and Puerto Rico has no board-issued salon license at all — Puerto Rico's Reglamento 8663 governs the exam and the individual license only. California's official business guide is the clearest case: it lists only the establishment license and a seller's permit.

Who licenses a med spa — the cosmetology board or the medical board?

Both can apply, to different halves of the business. The cosmetology board licenses the salon and the estheticians who work in it — that is the side this table covers. Medical services such as injectables and lasers fall under the physician's license and the state medical board. Illinois states the split plainly: a salon registration issued by its cosmetology regulator cannot be used to operate a med spa.

Do I need a sales-tax permit to sell skincare in my spa?

Yes, in every verified state that has a sales tax. Each state calls the permit something different — a seller's permit in California, a Certificate of Authority in New York and New Jersey, a vendor's license in Ohio — and each requires you to register before your first taxable sale. The permit is separate from your salon license, and it comes from the revenue department, not the cosmetology board.

What if my state is not in the table?

Every jurisdiction in scope is in the table — all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. We only publish a row once we have checked both halves — the licensing body and the sales-tax permit — against the official state page. If you cannot find your jurisdiction, tell us through the correction form below.

How current is this table?

Every row was last verified on 31 October, 1 November, or 2 November 2026 against the official board or revenue page linked in its Source column. We recheck each row against the official source and update the verified date when a rule changes. Rules do change, so confirm the current requirements on the official page before you act — this table is general information, not legal advice.

What if my state has no sales tax?

Seven jurisdictions have no sales tax on retail skincare, and they split two ways. Four have no state-level levy on the sale at all — Alaska, Oregon, Montana, and New Hampshire — so there is no sales-tax permit to get in those states. Three replace the sales tax with a gross receipts or excise tax — Delaware, New Mexico, and Hawaii — and those filings still apply. Count those, and 47 of 52 jurisdictions require a state tax registration of some kind. Check your state's row for the exact permit name.

What does 'not stated' mean in the table?

'Not stated' means the board's or revenue department's site does not say — it is not proof that no license or permit is required. Three jurisdictions say no outright for a separate retail license — California, Utah, and Puerto Rico — and the other 49 boards do not mention one. If your row says 'not stated', follow the Source link in that row and confirm the current wording with the board before you act.

What does 'verified' mean on this page?

'Verified' means one thing here: we checked the row against the official state page — the cosmetology board or licensing agency for the license half, and the revenue department for the sales-tax half — and we link to that page in the Source column so you can check the current wording yourself. Every row was last verified on 31 October, 1 November, or 2 November 2026. It is not a legal opinion, and it is not a guarantee the rule has not changed since.

How often is this table rechecked?

Every row is rechecked against its official source every month, and the verified date on the row is updated when a rule changes. If a board moves its page or rewrites a rule, the Source link in that row is where to confirm the current wording — this table is general information, not legal advice.

Where do I start if I want to sell my own line?

Start with your state's row in this table — confirm the shop license and the sales-tax permit first, because those two registrations decide whether you can sell retail at all. Then read our guide to starting a skincare line, which walks through the sequence from first question to first order. When you are ready to talk to a maker, the wholesale funnel takes your business details and volume so the manufacturer sees real numbers first.

Does this table cover federal rules like MoCRA?

No. This table covers state licensing and state sales tax only — the two halves a spa has to get right before it sells retail. Federal rules, including MoCRA, are in our separate guide to MoCRA rules for spas selling skincare.

What if a row is wrong?

Tell us through the correction form — say which state and what the official page now says, and link the page if you can. We recheck the row against the official source and update the verified date when a rule changes. Rules do change, and a board page can move, so the Source links are there for you to verify the current wording yourself.

Related tools: the private-label margin calculator and the retail shelf ROI calculator. Related reading: the MoCRA rules for spas selling skincare, selling skincare in your spa, insurance for selling your own skincare line, and the facts on LabelOrigin and Renaud Naturals.

Sources: every row links to its official source in the table — the cosmetology board or licensing agency, and the revenue department. All pages read 31 October, 1 November, or 2 November 2026. The Illinois med-spa split is from the joint IDFPR and Illinois Department of Public Health memo on med spas, updated 30 October 2025.

Newsletter

Get this table as a printable checklist

Sign up for the LabelOrigin newsletter and your printable checklist downloads instantly — every row in this table, for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. 3-page PDF, updated 2 November 2026 — 52 rows, one for every state plus DC and Puerto Rico. Monthly, unsubscribe anytime.

Next Step

Check your state's row, then cost the line

Once the two registrations are confirmed, the next question is what the line costs to launch — the funnel asks for your business details and volume, so the manufacturer sees real numbers first.

Start with the Renaud funnel → SASS-EE sunless tanning funnel →

Part of the Compliance hub — the rules for selling skincare, in one place.

Wholesale

Put your name on it

Your clients trust you, not a brand you resell. Wholesale skincare for med spas: your own label on Renaud Naturals formulas, low minimums, sample kits first.

Disclosure: Renaud Naturals is LabelOrigin's flagship client — Renaud pays LabelOrigin to bring it wholesale buyers. LabelOrigin doesn't sell product; Renaud quotes and fulfills.

See how wholesale works →